Memyselfandhi.

About all things awesome.

Anti-spam word verification stress January 28, 2009

Filed under: Rants — K @ 3:55 pm
Tags: ,

I often encounter the same problem when trying to sign up for new websites, buy something online, etc. The anti-spam blocker shows two words in a box that are all squiggly and blurry and then it says “type the characters as you see them in the picture above” and I have to type them as they appear above to get through.  

 

But here is where the problem comes into play: Even though I know I haven’t done any wrong, I get nervous about spelling the words right.  Sometimes the squiggly letters look confusing, and sometimes an “a” might look like and “o” with a line through it, or the word is not actually a real word but a made-up word.   You get the idea.  I’m a smart person with good vision so I don’t understand why this presents such a problem to me, but it does. It’s unnecessarily stressful and I don’t like it. That is all.

 

1749794474_5b24dae1ae_m

 

Leave a Reply

