Memyselfandhi.

About all things awesome.

Dip-a-dee-do-dah July 31, 2008

Filed under: Odes — mallori612 @ 7:40 pm

Too often, Kerry and I blog about things we do not like, awkward situations and other things with negative connotations.  But, you know what? There are plenty of little pockets of awesomeness in this world that make it all worthwhile.  Today, I realized something wonderful that is often taken for granted- dip.

I love dip.  Any kind really, and there are so many different varieties to choose from:

  • Standard party dips: french onion, ranch, vegetable, spinach, seven layer….
  • Condiment-like dips: fancy mustards, barbeque sauce, sour cream, cocktail sauce….
  • Foods that become dips in certain situations: peanut butter with apples or celery, marinara sauce with mozz sticks
  • Foods that when melted become dips: cheese, chocolate, marshmallow…

 Dips make food, and life, a little less bland and a lot more fun.  Thank you, dip.

 

PS- The title of this post, “Dip-a-dee-do-dah” reminds me of an embarrasing childhood moment, so I thought I would share:

My parents’ divorce was really messy, and they decided that it would be better for my sister and I to have our own phone line (even though we were really young- 8 and 11) so that my dad could call without having to talk to my mom.  We thought we were so cool when we recorded the following, as a song, as our answering machine greeting:

Zip-a-dee-do-dah, zip-a-dee-ay

Leave your name, number and somethin’ to say

You’ve reached Mal and Christie

We’re not home

So leave a message, after the tone!

 

Leave a Reply

